As it is well documented, the club was founded in 1946 as the North Withington Amateur Football Club and was the idea of some young men who attended St. Crispin’s Church on Hart Road in Fallowfield. The first committee was held in the lounge of a house in Garswood Road, Fallowfield and in attendance was Eric Renard, Brian Honeysett and others. Stan Hahn became involved much later on, but then totally immersed himself in the club.
The club first played in the South Manchester & Wythenshawe League (1946 - 1958) and were subsequently transferred to the Lancashire & Cheshire Amateur league (1958 - 1972). It was in 1972 the club applied and were accepted into the Manchester league, when up until 1974 all games of football were played at Hough End Field, Princess Road, Withington.
In June 1974, the club’s headquarters were moved from the Princess Hotel in Withington to the newly acquired ground at Timpson Road, Baguley, M23 9LL where three pre-fabricated houses were purchased and turned into a clubhouse with a bar, kitchen and changing facilities. After numerous discussions, it was decided to name the ground after the residing Chairman (Stan Hahn) and the Club Secretary (Eric Renard) out of respect, honouring them as founding members, hence the name Ericstan Park. And it was at this point, the club decided to design a new badge incorporating a cockerel and a fox; the cockerel related to founding member Stanley Hahn (the German for cockerel is Hähnchen) and the fox to founding member Eric Renard (the French for fox is Renard), to forever recognise the club’s founding members.